Author Topic: Please help a noob, "Trigger Error"  (Read 14891 times)

Offline laine_16v

• BHP: 3
Please help a noob, "Trigger Error"
« on: March 14, 2009, 06:34:12 pm »
Hi, this is my first post, im new to VEMS, and the world of ECUS really.

I have just built a mk1 Clio Williams engine on Jenvey throttle bodies, catcams vernier, high comp pistons e.t.c

I bought the VEMS ecu and Prebuilt V3 harness off a very similar engine, and i used all the sensors from it.

On first startup it ran fine, couldnt be happier, no real problems to report, spent most to fhe day fiddling and driving it around a bit, i then parked up and tidied a bit of wiring and dissconected the battery, and car hasnt been able to start since...

Ive hooked the laptop upto megatune, and its obvious the problem is it cant detect a crank speed..... 0rpm.

However it will say, if you crank for 30 seconds, jumpt upto to something like 100-200rpm for a very split second before remaining at 0rpm, it might do it a few times in the space of a minute.

Ive changed the crank sensor, with no luck. Resistance accross both crank sensors is 220 ohms, resistance of wiring between crank sensor and the Econoseal 36 plug is 0.4 ohms. While cranking a 4v signal can also be found at the ECU plug.

So the crank sensor is fine....the wiring to the ECU plug is fine, then what the hell is wrong? ive not changed any Trigger settings e.t.c

One thing to note, if i dissconect the crank sensor and turn the engine over Megatune reads nothing, but if i connect and crank over, then it will still read 0 but "Trigger Error" will come up at the bottom in red.

Im running a Meganne flywheel with 60-2 trigger pattern, and this is a screenshot of the trigger pattern settings, unfortunately it means nothing to me and im wondering if any of you can shed any light onto something that is REALLY annoying me. Thanks.

Why would it work fine, and then not the next day, when nothing has been touched :S

Offline PeepPaadam

• BHP: 8