Author Topic: Configuring Vems LCD display?  (Read 7687 times)

Offline sink

• BHP: 3
Configuring Vems LCD display?
« on: November 20, 2010, 10:33:22 am »
Hi All.

Sorry for even posting this queston but I'm still very new with the hole Vems thing. Because my car is still on the stands I haven't had very much "practice" with the ECU. But a question/problem has occured. I've done some practice runs with the car and noticed then (at first, just in the garage the oxygen sensor/lambda wasn't connected) that the LCD displays the lambda value but not AFR - is it possible to change it to display AFR? I'm currently using Firmwire 1.1.74.

I've tried to search any information about this thing but nothing has shown up, just some very-very old post of older firwires. Maybe I'm not using the correct search parameters - who knows. But every bit of information would be helpful :-)

Very big thanks for reading this post to the end, or atleast reading the end :-D

Best regards, Sander from Estonia.

Offline gunni

• BHP: 37
Re: Configuring Vems LCD display?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2010, 10:47:38 am »
AFR is not a good accurate measurement as it does not take into an account the chemical composition of the fuel.

This will yield incorrect readings depending on the time of year and potential ethanol content of the fuel.
This is why lambda is a more accurate measurement and we like to keep things accurate.

Offline sink

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2010, 10:59:25 am »
Ok, well, I understand now why it is done so. But now I have a new question and I'm starting to notice I'm quite young (let's use that word for now, we'll get to stupid later  ;D) I know what the AFR values should be, but not how they refer to lambda values - any help on that? :-S