Author Topic: General hi de hi  (Read 3791 times)

Offline driftben

• BHP: 0
General hi de hi
« on: December 07, 2015, 08:49:07 pm »
Hi all,

i thought id pop by and say hi as im sure i shall be boring you all with my many questions........

I have BMW V8 M60b40 which i have rebuilt and currently twin turboing, im looking into a Vems install as iv been advised against Megasquirt.
baring in mind im very new to the standalone world is there anything i need to watchout for (other than making sure the grounds are right and tight).

any suggestions on sensor etc?

Thanks a million  ;)

Offline Kamuto

• BHP: 19
Re: General hi de hi
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 09:38:27 pm »
just change intake air sensor to one suitable for turbocharging, all other stuff no problem :)
Vems installer in Lithuania
valdas.sunokas@gmail.com

Offline driftben

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2015, 08:43:37 am »
Oh right great news thanks,
what temp range would I be genuinely looking for?

And does the VEMS come with a base map?

Offline MWfire

• BHP: 35
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2015, 10:15:49 am »
For intake temperature sensor use
https://shop.vems.hu/catalog/sensor-p-115.html?osCsid=203a4ba98192784ee455c45f323b1cde

i did few bmw v8 4.4 to turbo(60 till 80mm turbos), stock engine can handle more than 1bar of boost with good mapping without a problem.

Offline Kamuto

« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2015, 11:40:20 am »
I would recoment to retorque head bolts berofe boosting it it's stock engine  ;D
valdas.sunokas@gmail.com

Offline driftben

« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2015, 10:10:26 pm »
MWfire we have many things to talk about by the sounds of it  ;D
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction on the MAT sensor, will I need a new hall sensor as well?

Kamuto I have does exactly that, I have ARP head studs and conrod bolts so they should hold things together nicely  ;)

Offline Kamuto

« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2015, 11:26:00 pm »