Author Topic: wiring second map sensor for barometric correction  (Read 10415 times)

Offline ethergore

• BHP: 0
wiring second map sensor for barometric correction
« on: September 15, 2014, 05:39:21 pm »
Hello everyone. I wanted to start off by explaining that I am a complete novice with ecu install/tuning. I'm running an ITBd 16 valve 4ag on straight map. It was installed and street tuned by a buddy who can no longer help me.

Car runs great at my current altitude but even a short climb prevents the map from getting to 101 kpa causing lean conditions.

I was wondering if someone could give me some easy instructions on wiring and setting up a second map sensor? I picked a sensor from the junk yard off a Honda that needs a 5 volt source.

I'm guessing I can use pin 28 that is not in use to get a 5 volt source. I have analog channel 7 available for the input signal.  Would this be the right way to go and do I ground to ecu or to chassis?

Again sorry if I am way off but I am a complete newb but could really use some help.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 06:39:59 pm by ethergore »

Offline gunni

• BHP: 37
Re: wiring second map sensor for barometric correction
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2014, 10:08:04 pm »
Where is your map sensor placed? As it will see variance in pressure based on atmospheric pressure, also have a look in

"Base Setup" - "Engine Setup" . There you can see Barometric pressure correction, is that on or off?
If it´s ON what settings does it have?

Offline ethergore

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2014, 10:45:20 pm »
my current map sensor is routed into a vacuum block connected to my itbs.

My baro correction is turned off.

Offline ethergore

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2014, 04:56:32 am »
So I went ahead and wired in the sensor.  Ground went to sensor ground, got 5 volt from pin 28 and signal is going in to analog input 7.

I have a reading into the ecu and tried seeing up the barometric correction but it doesn't seem to be doing anything.