Author Topic: No secondary trigger audi 5cyl  (Read 6460 times)

Offline snaak

• BHP: 0
No secondary trigger audi 5cyl
« on: January 28, 2014, 06:55:21 pm »
Hi,

I am new to VEMS so forgive me if I ask silly questions  ;D

I installed VEMS pnp for audi on mij RS2. I installed the newest firmware and a standard audi config (with cam hall inverter) out of vemstune. When I make a triggelog the secondary trigger does not show at all. I installed a 7a flywheel and know of the triggered problems with the (small) crank home pin. I tried to bring the sensor closer to the pin, with no result. The car fires right up when I hook up the motronic so the cam-hall sensor should be OK.
Thanx!

Offline Erikk

• BHP: 7
Re: No secondary trigger audi 5cyl
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 06:39:33 am »
Did you swap the pins in the connector for the secondary VR sensor (home-pin) ?

Trigger

The secondary trigger crankhome-VR MUST BE reversed. Can be done in the connector on the firewall.

Measure trigger resistance against AANpin48.

... Ohm between 49 and 48 (135 cranktooth-VR primary trigger)
... Ohm between 47 and 48 (crankhome-VR secondary trigger)
Reversing crankhome-VR polarity

Disconnect the crankhome-VR secondary trigger (3 pin AMP connector at the firewall. Was black in our AAN harness). In the female connector:
measure with DVM which of the 3 pins go to motronic AAN pin48 (this is trigger GND)
measure with DVM which of the 3 pins go to motronic AAN pin47 (crankhome-VR secondary trigger. The 3B engine-harness pinout is different: 3Bpin49 !!!)
measure resistance between pin 1 and 2 in the 3pin male connector (of the sensor). You should get the same Ohm as above (eg. 980 Ohm, or 1010 Ohm or around that)
swap the 2 wires in the female connector (red and violet in our case)
if you cannot pull out the receptacles, than you need to cut, blank, solder and insulate
mate the crankhome-VR secondary trigger 3pin connector (male in the female :-)