Author Topic: rev counter wiring  (Read 5808 times)

Offline karan

• BHP: 1
rev counter wiring
« on: January 18, 2010, 04:05:27 am »
hi guys im new to all this malarkey and i was after some help wiring up the tacho on my defi gauges. running the Vems on a 1UZFE engine with wasted spark setup. This whole setup was previously in someone elses nissan s13 and i am putting it in my PS13 silvia at present (dont think he had the tacho running though). however i am unsure where to get a tacho signal from. I dont think you can take a 12v signal from the coils as this voltage would be too high right?

I believe bob did the loom construction etc for this car so if hes about that would be great!

cheers
Karan

Offline rob@vems.co.uk

• BHP: 49
    • VEMS Forum
Re: rev counter wiring
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 04:16:24 am »
Hi mate, do you have any info on the Defi guages?
What we can do is either get the stepper motor to drive the tacho, or use a 12v pull-up via a resistor through one of the spare driver channels.
Where abouts is the car?

Offline karan

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2010, 04:25:53 am »
hi rob cheers for the quick reply!

he broke the car as i bought the engine etc off him.
its installed in mine and is only a few hrs work off running just waiting on some oil cooler pipework.
the defi gauges are the low voltage type. I realised i actually still have a dakota digital sgi-8 interface from a m5 engined e30 that i did a cpl yrs ago so ill give this a go first.

there was no integral 02 sensor on steves car, and it currently runs horrible until it warms up.
will give the dakota thingy a go i reckon save me messing about with the vems stuff at present. Shall get some pics up in project section

cheers rob!

Offline rob@vems.co.uk

• VEMS Forum
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2010, 03:25:34 pm »
No problem, its easily rectified.