Author Topic: I am completely new to VEMS can you help  (Read 5302 times)

Offline JT

• BHP: 0
I am completely new to VEMS can you help
« on: October 23, 2009, 02:30:30 am »
Hi my name is John and i have just registered today, i apologise if my questions are everyday questions to you but good advice from people in the know is what i am after.

I am running a 1990 325i E30 with a 2.5 M20 engine which hopefully will end up as a 2.7. The car is road legal but mainly a track day car now.

A bit of history on the car.

I have owned the car since 2005 and but in the last twelve months it has become more of a track day car and i have fitted it out with the following:-

Safety devices cage
GAZ coilover kit
3.5 litre air flow meter
big bore throttle body
larger injectors
six branch manifold
S/S exhaust system
chipped uk IC in the ecu
electric fan
cold feed enclosed air filter
additional high pressure fuel pump
swirl pot
seats, harnesses etc

Now that i have done the above i am after even more power like most people on here i suspect.

My next step is to bin the air flow meter and fit a standalone ecu.

My questions are what do you get equipment wise from VEMS and what do i need to source seperately.

How many people have done an E30 conversion and what sort of results have they had.

If i set the system up for the 2.5 is it easily reprogrammed for a 2.7.

Which is the best route to take standard version or motronic version, ideally plug play and forget would be nice.

Where can i buy it from and how much do i need to budget for.

Is there anybody in the yorkshire area with a VEMS setup that i can have a look at.

There is probably a load more questions but i dont want to annoy everybody in my first post.

Thanks in advance.

John

Offline gunni

• BHP: 37
Re: I am completely new to VEMS can you help
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 06:49:56 am »
#1. You need a Air temp sensor, TPS , map sensor, rest is in the m20 harness.